New Years Thoughts

Like so many other days at this time of year, New Year’s was a day of reflection for me.  And for the first time in three years, I found it hard to say goodbye to the past year.

2007 – I happily let go.  The loss of Avery and Sophie was raw and intense … and I wanted to do everything I could to separate from the pain.

2008 – the whole year read like a bad book.  Loss, depression, a 6 month time period with my husband away, a major move, new jobs, and yet another loss.  I couldn’t have been happier to see the 8 turn to a 9.

But this year.  Well, it brought me him –

And moments worth photographing like these –

This year truly was the year of Kai (as weird as that sounds).  We found out we were pregnant the first week of January … and from then on, the year has been about him.  Through all the up and downs of his pregnancy, birth, and first three months, it has been about the little Monkey.

So while I look forward to 2010, I am a bit sad to see 2009 go.  And sadness for the end of the year – well, it is a bit of a novel concept in these parts.

2 Comments »

  1. Erika said

    yup, i know what you mean. 2008 was the year i said goodbye to my twin girls, vivian and annemarie. 2009 was the year of my beautiful rainbow baby- and it was a beautiful year- a hard year, too…but a beautiful year. here’s hoping 2010 brings you nothing but joy and peace and love!

    xoxo,
    Erika

    funfinns.com
    littletinyfootprints.blogspot.com

  2. Bluebird said

    Three cheers for the year of Kai 🙂 Here’s to many more to come.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

