Mr. Kai’s Story

Kai

The best way to describe it?  A marathon with a sprint finish.

After days of fairly steady contractions that weren’t going anywhere, I woke up at 4:00 Thursday morning sensing something different.  The contractions, although no closer together than 7-8 minutes, had changed … definitely more intense.

The decision to go to the hospital just before noon was honestly a surprisingly difficult time for me.  I didn’t expect it so soon, but thoughts of the twins rushed in with the thought of the hospital.  Regardless, it quickly became apparent that we needed to go.

Checking in, we were surprised to learn I was dilated to 4 … a nice surprise I must say.  The day was a long one, but with the help of our Doula (absolutely amazing) we made it through fairly well.

By 10 pm I was a 9 1/2 … and still making it with just the gas.  By that point I was exhausted.  I remember vaguely being told at about 10:10 that it wouldn’t be long before I would be ready to push.  Anticipating a long time pushing, I was pretty disappointed.

Shortly thereafter (i.e. before 10:15) I felt this incredible urge and all I heard was “Oh my goodness, it’s the head, get the doctor now”.  Apparently Kai was done waiting 🙂  At 10:30pm, our beautiful baby boy made his arrival … no one could slow him down.  And as a note, he lived up to his “Monkey” name.  He insisted upon kicking the entire labour, no one there could believe how active he remained the whole time.

DH and I were both in awe of the little guy.  While others were oohing and aahing over the hair, big shoulders, and all his “boyness” we were just amazed that he was here, alive and healthy.

We are all doing well, Kai especially.  He is loving eating and sleeping and me, well I am enjoying him immensely and working at healing.  Apparently mommy suffered much more damage than him with his exit!

More pictures and thoughts will soon follow, I promise.  For now though, we are just eating up every minute we have with this little Monkey of ours.

11 Comments »

  1. Sally said

    He’s precious and I’m so happy for you.
    xo

  2. Tina said

    What a big beautiful boy!!! Congratulations!

  3. What a wonderful, peaceful post 🙂 And such a beautiful little boy! My heart is so full of happiness for you.

    I’m glad that Kai is doing well, and hope that you continue to heal also.

  4. Carly K. said

    What a beautiful boy! So happy for you all. I’m so glad that Kai is here and making you smile! Thinking of you and praying for a speedy recovery on your part.

  5. jan said

    He is just beautiful! Hang in there, you will heal up. Rest, rest, rest and enjoy your sweet little guy!

  6. Bree said

    What a beautiful baby boy! I am elated for you!

  7. coffeegrl said

    Here from LFCA – congratulations! How very exciting! All the best as you enjoy these wonderful days to come.

  8. Congrats!

  9. Duh, I hit enter before I finished! I meant to add that Kai is a handsome boy. I am glad you are doing well, and that was sweet of your mom to give an update!!!

  10. Jamie said

    Congratulations on your beautiful boy! I love that our boys are birthday twins.

    Isn’t it the strangest, most wonderful feeling ever? I still look at him with amazement.

  11. Here from LFCA…

    Congratulations! What a cutie!

    All the best to you.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

