Doing What I Need To Do

Already dealing with a lot of full term jitters, this week’s news of new baby death in the blog-o-sphere shook me to the core.  At 37 1/2 weeks along, I am probably the most nervous I have been since sometime in the late first trimester.

Easiest way to explain it?  If Monkey was a teen, there would be much eye rolling and “Mooooom, I’m fine” statements being thrown out there as I prod my belly regularly just to feel the small jabs back.

Physically, everything is great.  I am still feeling remarkably good, Monkey is head down and fattening up nicely ;), and at today’s appointment I found out I am Strep B negative (YEAH), and that Monkey has officially dropped (nothing quite as unnerving as the doctor finding a heartbeat in your crotch region!)

Emotionally, I am a bit more fragile.  I will be taking a step back from the computer – and immersing myself a bit more in the world where odds are in your favour, where babies come home healthy, where full-term mamas don’t wonder “What if?”.

Not sure how long I will step back for … possibly until Monkey is born.  Don’t worry, you will definitely hear that news once it happens … but I may be quiet until then.   We will see.  In the meantime, I will be doing what I need to do to get to that point.

5 Comments »

  1. We understand, of course, but will miss you greatly. I can’t imagine the strentgh and courage its taken you to get this far, and I can’t imagine anyone begrudging you what it takes you to get past this final hurdble.

    I will continue to keep you and Monkey in my thoughts, and will wait anxiously for the good news of his birth!

  2. Sally said

    Totally understand. So much love and luck to you. I can’t wait to hear your news.
    xo

  3. Jamie said

    I find that the closer I get to my due date, the more I panic about not making it.

    I’m glad you’re still feeling good and look forward to the news of Monkey’s arrival!

  4. Karen said

    I am sooooooo praying for you! Can’t wait to hear Mom and Monkey are both doing well …..at home!…..Hugs and prayers!

  5. Carly k. said

    So glad to hear. I understand. I stepped away from the computer for awhile as well… trying to stay positive. I wish you nothing but the best and will be thinking of you and your family.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

