Bouncy Castles, Alienesque Beings, and Other Thoughts on 30 weeks

I can’t believe that we have almost hit the 30 week mark in this pregnancy – just a few days away.  In so many ways it seems like it has arrived ridiculously quick, although in many others it feels as though I have been pregnant forever (oh wait, that’s right, I have been pregnant for the better part of 2 years).

Last week I was in for the Gestational Diabetes test.  I found it strange to do it for the first time … I feel like I have done pregnancy a lot, doing a test for the first time seemed a bit bizarre.  I am guessing it went well, since it has been over a week and no one has frantically called, asking me to return for the 3 hour version.   The sugary drink definitely gave us a caution about this child though.  For the next 24 hours, my stomach could only be described as a bouncy castle for Monkey – the movements the outside made were incredible, the feelings on the inside, I could have done without 😉  It led to a minor freak-out session on my part when Monkey calmed back down to normal too … took me a day to readjust to the “normal” activity level.  I was quite proud that I didn’t just march on over to the hospital in full panic.

I have been meaning to write for a couple days, but was planning on getting a stomach picture to go along with the post … after three days though, I figure it isn’t going to happen so I may as well just write.  The stomach is definitely launching forward these days though, hard to believe it has 10 more weeks of growth left in it.  My belly button certainly is a sight to behold – it is a creature in it’s own right.  DH and I mock it nightly.

As has been the case with so many points in this pregnancy, as we near 30 weeks, I find myself deep in thought often.  It really is strange to be hitting marks that we haven’t hit before … and as we do, I am realizing that we are not altogether prepared for labour, delivery, and bringing home a baby.  Yes, we have the stuff.  Yes, it is what we have been longing for for the past several years.  But I find myself getting nervous.  I feel a bit like a veteran at this pregnancy thing … but soon we will begin hitting things for the first time. 

Fingers crossed, labour will bring about a live baby.  One which will come home with us.  One that will need to be fed, changed, loved, and parented.  Absolutely thrilling, but terrifying all at the same time.

2 Comments »

  1. Sally said

    I find it strange knowing I wont go as far again in a pregnancy. That it will all hopefully be brought to an end quicker and sooner than last time. Pregnancy after loss is strange no matter what angle you come at it from.
    Can’t wait to see that bump pic! Grow Monkey grow!

  2. Jamie said

    That would be a strange feeling – to have a ‘first’ in pregnancy testing. At one point, I had done so many vaginal u/s, I was questioning why I ever wore pants to the OB’s office.

    We’ll still take that pic when you get time!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

