Yesterday and Today

So yesterday’s appointment was a bit of a disappointment.  My regular doctor was not in (off getting married – the nerve :)) so I got her stand in.  Not bad, but as you all know, not the same as having the one who gets my neurotic idiosyncrasies and works through each with me as if they are 100% valid concerns.

We did get to hear Monkey’s heart, but due to the fact that we have an extremely active baby in there, it took awhile.  Deep breaths were barely controlling me as we waiting.  Even once we got it, the baby kept moving so it was fairly faint.  Not exactly what I wanted to hear, but the doctor assured me it was totally normal, so I will have faith.

Finally, we got our scan scheduled for next week, but found out that in our small town they won’t request sex determination.  Now I know this really isn’t a huge deal – having a baby, regardless of whether it’s a boy or a girl is really all we care about.  But I would really like to know before hand.  I guess we are now hoping for some sort of extremely obvious shot that nobody can miss!

And to today.  Today is the day, 1 1/2 years ago, that we lost the girls.  The exact date in the pregnancy that was our last.  It is strange to think I know what Monkey looks like right now – I held his/her older sisters on this date in their pregnancy.  While I am extremely glad that we will be moving past this date with Monkey (God willing!), it is still hard to fathom.  Although they will always be Monkey’s big sisters – Avery and Sophie will never be older than Monkey is right now.  Definitely mulling today.

2 Comments »

  1. Brenna said

    I can imagine what a mixed bag of emotions you must be experiencing. I’m just so glad to hear that Monkey is doing great in there! I’ll be thinking about you and hoping that things continue to go well, and that your sweet girls are looking down with excitement as they await the arrival of their little brother or sister.

    • Bluebird said

      That must be such a strange, strange feeling. Is it in any way reassuring too? Hope so . . . glad to know Monkey’s hanging out and enjoying himself in there 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

