Disappointment

Today was my 11 week appointment with my doctor.  I’m always nervous about appointments, but was excited to possibly hear Monkey’s heartbeat.  With no ultrasound since 5.5 weeks, I have definitely been a bit anxious. 

All the regular things out of the way, I waited for the Doppler to come out.  When it didn’t I mentioned it.  Apparently, in our small town, our Dopplers are not advanced enough to hear a heartbeat until at least 16 weeks.  I had never heard of this and was very disappointed.  That is still 5 weeks away! 

Thankfully, my doctor understand my slightly neurotic need to reassurance and scheduled an ultrasound for me this Thursday.  I keep trying to tell myself that it is only three days away, and that it really isn’t a big deal to wait.  I am not entirely sure I believe it though, I was really hoping for encouragement today.

7 Comments »

  1. Jamie said

    I understand how very disappointing that is. And I am sure Thursday feels like an eternity from now.

    I am glad you have an understanding doctor who got right on the u/s appointment, though. Hooray! I’ll be looking for the good news on Thursday.

  2. 0h that sucks! I’m so glad your doctor was understanding at least. Can’t wait till the u/s!

  3. OM said

    That’s definitely disappointing. Even before I lost E, the heartbeat was typically the reason I even bothered going to the doctor. That probably sounds bad. Believe me, I always dutifully went to the doctor. Have you considered getting your own doppler? I forget where I “know” people from, so perhaps you’ve mentioned this. I’m thinking of you and keeping you in my prayers.

  4. Erika said

    oh gosh- that would have made me so disappointed, too! i have never heard of such a thing! you can buy your own doppler, you know (ebay)- and it is wonderful…just to have that reassurance. even now at 23 weeks (especially now) when i get scared, i can always give myself that little bit of reassurance. i think i got the doppler around 10w, and could find the hb fine…and now, it’s very easy.

    hoping your u/s goes great on thursday! (((hugs)))

  5. Carly said

    Praying for a strong and healthy Heart beat Heather 🙂 I will be thinking of you x

  6. OM said

    Thank you for switching that username for me. 🙂
    Yes, I do “know” you from Butterfly. Have you decided about getting a Doppler? I’m curious as well for a (hopefully) future pregnancy.

  7. jan said

    Keeping you in my prayers.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

