Dates We Set

Although totally pointless, I find myself setting “when we get to …” dates with this pregnancy.  My current date?  10 weeks and 1 day.  Why?  That is the day that I went in for my D&C for our last pregnancy.  The surgeon let me know post-surgery that I probably would have finally started to lose the pregnancy naturally the same day.

So what does that mean for my current pregnancy?  Nothing.  What does it feel like it means?  Somehow, if I can make it past 10 weeks and 1 day, it feels like this baby has more of a chance.

Rational?  Nope.  Strange?  Definitely.  And yet, I can’t seem to get that out of my mind.  Next Tuesday’s the day … and after that, only a week until our next ultrasound.  And it is a good thing we are almost at those dates, because after 3 pregnancies in a year and a half, I can’t hide my little belly for much longer.

4 Comments »

  1. bmarielee said

    Not strange at all. Sad that you have to have these dates, but not strange to be anxious about them.

    Will be keeping you in my thoughts and prayers until next Tuesday. Then until the ultrasound. And then until every milestone thereafter.

    Bluebird

  2. Jamie said

    It is strange to have those terrible anniversaries. I hate them, too.

    I hope this next week passes quickly!

  3. Michelle said

    Not strange at all for something you’ve been through. I do it too. I was totally freaked out with this pregnancy because I conceived 4 years almost to the day after we conceived the first time – a blighted ovum. Now after losing our daughter at 20 weeks, we have many milestones to get through…it’s not just seeing a heartbeat anymore. Right now I’m at 16 weeks and my next milestone is our big ultrasound in a few weeks. Then will come the big 20 week mark, I hope. I’ll be thinking of you on Tuesday!

  4. Lina said

    I think all of us w/ losses has those dates. I am hoping you make it past all your milestones and have a lovely baby in your arms at the end.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

