A Good Place

This week has been good for me.  After several days of hiding out (not hard to do in our town in the winter!) I am feeling much better than the weekend.

And honestly, for the first time in a very long time, I can honestly say that I am in a good place.  Despite all that is happening around me (many friends are in tough places, as well as new babies, pregnancies, etc) I am feeling okay with where we are at.  There will always be a hole in our lives left by our babies that departed too soon, but I am feeling content right now.

That feels strange to say … but it is true.  Are we still trying to bring home a baby? Definitely.  Do I still stare at filled baby carriers and briefly consider stealing one?  Sure 😉  Are we still crossing our fingers that 2009 will finally be our year?  Yes, for sure!

But I am realizing that even if it isn’t … even if those dreams aren’t fulfilled, that we will be okay.  It will be hard, but we will make it.  I can now look a the future, not with dread, but with some hope that there will still be joy, no matter what our path looks like.

All that said, I am now holding my breath – I may have jinxed myself 🙂  But for now, we are okay.  And that is enough for right now.

2 Comments »

  1. Carly said

    All that matters is now.

    I am so happy you are in a good place Heather. What a beautifully hopeful post.

    Thank you

    x

  2. erika said

    that’s a great place to be! 🙂 hoping to get that perspective one day, as well.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

