Life Colliding

Generally I keep my “babylossness” separated from the rest of my life … carefully tucked away, only revealed to those willing to see it for what it is.  I feel as though there is a chasm, and a deep one at that, in between everything to do with Avery, Sophie, and Bug and everything else.

But every once in awhile something jars me into recognizing that even though I keep it separated, it is my life … not just a part of it. 

Today was one of those days.  In an interview for my new job, we got to a segment on mental health (and yes, it is necessary for the field I am in).  As soon as I saw the section, my heart sank.  I really wasn’t ready to bring up the girls.

And yet, questions like “name the most stressful, life-changing experience you have had and explain how you dealt with it” and “have you ever been medicated for a mental illness?” tend to bring  them up. 

Not sure how I feel about that … processing out loud I guess.  As much as I think I want them to be an active part of my life, when times like today arise, I am not entirely sure that I really am ready for it.

1 Comment »

  1. Carly said

    That would have been so hard. I have never been put in that position.

    I don’t know if we would ever be ready for times like that one Heather.

    Thinking of you this afternoon on New Years Eve.

    Praying 2009 is a year for you 🙂

    Love Carly x

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

